The Eurocodes are European standards for the design of different types of structural design and represent design rules. Nationally Determined Parameters are defined in National Annexes. They also handle all foreseeable types of loads and their action on constructions.

Eurocodes cover all major construction materials (concrete, steel, timber, masonry and aluminum), all major areas of structural design (basic design of structures, loads, fires, geotechnical engineering, seizmic design, etc.) as well as a wide range of types of structures (buildings, bridges , masts, towers, silos, etc.).

Determination of safety level of construction works, including aspects of durability and economy of construction structures, remains within the competence of the State who implements Eurocodes through Nationally Determined Parameters (NDPs). Nationally Determined Parameters take into account differences in geographical, geological and climatic conditions (wind, snow, temperatures and seismic maps). Nationally Determined Parameters for Bosnia and Herzegovina are included in each developed National Annex.
Technical Committee CEN/TC 250, Structural Eurocodes, which was established in 1990, is responsible for the development and publication of Eurocodes within the European Committee for Standardization (CEN). Its work is carried out through eleven Subcommittees (SC 1 – SC 11), each of which is in charge of a particular Eurocode. There are also three horizontal working groups for:

  • bridges;
  • fire and
  • policy and guidelines.

The three Technical Committees of the Institute for Standardization of Bosnia and Herzegovina are responsible for the adoption of Eurocodes into the system of BiH standardization and their publication, as well as the preparation of National Annexes:

BAS/TC 58 Design of construction structures – Eurocode EN 1990, Eurocodes 1, Eurocodes 7, Eurocodes 8 and Eurocodes 9
BAS/TC 61 Design of construction structures – Eurocodes 2, Eurocodes 4 and Eurocodes 6
BAS/TC 62 Design of construction structures – Eurocodes 3 and Eurocodes 5

The Eurocodes include 10 standards (EN 1990 – 1999) covering various subjects related to construction. The link between Eurocodes is given in the picture below.

Content of Eurocodes

EN 1990 Eurocode: Basis of structural design
EN 1991 Eurocode 1: Actions on structures
EN 1992 Eurocode 2: Design of concrete structures
EN 1993 Eurocode 3: Design of steel structures
EN 1994 Eurocode 4: Design of composite steel and concrete structures
EN 1995 Eurocode 5: Design of timber structures
EN 1996 Eurocode 6: Design of masonry structures
EN 1997 Eurocode 7: Geotechnical design
EN 1998 Eurocode 8: Design of structures for earthquake resistance
EN 1999 Eurocode 9: Design of aluminum structures

Each of the Eurocodes (except EN 1990) is divided into a number of Parts covering specific aspects of the subject. In total there are 58 Eurocodes parts.

All of the Eurocodes relating to materials have a Part 1-1 which covers the design of buildings and other civil engineering structures and a Part 1-2 for fire design. Eurocodes for concrete, steel, composite steel and concrete constructions, and timber structures and earthquake resistance have a Part 2 covering design of bridges. These Parts 2 should be used in combination with the appropriate General parts (Parts 1).